At the Called Council Meeting held on the above date the following members were present:

Mayor Horace Hudgins

City Council: Patrice Y.W. Manley, Lemora Moses, Steven Hudson, and Claire Stone

City Clerk: Lucile Middlebrooks
City Attorney: Warren Mixon
Public Works Director: Cornelius Hall
Standards and Compliance Director: Joe Saxon
Interim Police Chief: John D. Anderson

First: Mayor Horace Hudgins called the meeting to order and determined a quorum,

prayer by Councilwoman Claire Stone and then the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America was pledged and spoken by everyone.

Second: Adopting of the Agenda for Tuesday, January 31, 2023

Motion by Councilwoman Patrice Y.W. Manley and 2nd by Councilman Lemora

Moses to adopt the agenda for Tuesday, January 31, 2023 All in favor - Vote 4 yes; Opposes None; Motion passed.

Third: Introduction of New Employees

No new employees to introduce.

Fourth: Still Waters Engineer Chad Griffin – discussing CDBG grant

Still Waters Engineer Chad Griffin present a summary of the CDBG 2021 grant which covers the area from West 11th Street to W 8th Street and Oak Street to McKinley Street. The project is estimated to be \$2,000,000 and it bid out in the

next 60 days.

No vote necessary.

Fifth: Appointing New Police Chief

Mayor Horace Hudgins stated that Personnel Committee Chairman Steven Hudson will give the details of appointing the new Police Chief. Councilman Steven Hudson state the committee approve Ashley Jones as the Chief of Police.

Mayor called for a motion.

Motion by Councilman Steven Hudson and 2nd by Councilwoman Patrice Y.W. Manley

All in favor – Voted 4 yes; Opposes none – Motion passed.

Sixth: 2023 Standing Committees and Appointments

STANDING COMMITTEES - 2023

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Claire M. Clayton-Stone, Chairman

PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE

Patrice Y. W. Manley, Chairman

PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE

Steven Hudson, Chairman Lemora Moses

RECREATION COMMITTEE

Lemora Moses, Sr. Chairman Claire M. Clayton-Stone

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

Steven Hudson, Chairman Patrice Y.W. Manley

The Industrial Authority Board Councilman Steven Hudson Mr. Matt Young

Approved at the _____ Council Meeting

ETHICS COMMITTEE - APPOINTED 2016 & Updated

Peggy Day – appointed May 3, 2016 Maurice Lake – appointed September 6, 2016 Lisa Cook – appointed September 6, 2016 Terry Johnson – appointed September 6, 2016 Vacant Mayor Horace Hudgins stated we will keep the same committee and the elected council member will replace whatever position on the committee that former Council member Mona MacKenzie held.

Motion by Councilwoman Claire Stone and 2nd by Councilman Steven Hudson to accept the 2023 Standing Committees.

All in favor – Voted 4 yes: Opposes none – Motion passed.

Seventh: Appointments to the Ocilla/Irwin Co. Planning and Advisory Commission and Zoning Board of Appeals

Irwin County Building & Zoning Department 202 South Irwin Avenue Ocilla Georgia 31774

> Office: (229) 468-5514 Fax: (229) 468-5681

12/12/2022

RE: Appointments to the Ocilla/Irwin Co. Planning and Advisory Commission and Zoning board of Appeals

To: County Commission and City Council:

The Zoning Staff recommends the following people for REAPPOINTMENT to the Planning and Advisory Commission to serve as follows:

Nancy Mitchell Croft (2023-2025) Tra Miller (2023-2025) Tara Smith (2022-2024)

The Zoning Staff recommends the following people for REAPPOINTMENT to the Zoning board of Appeals Planning and Advisory Commission to serve as follows:

Vernon Wells(2022-2024) Frank White (2022-2024) Tara Smith (2023-2025) Rusty Hickey (2022-2024)

Each of these have agreed to serve the said term and have been recommended by the Zoning Staff on 12/12/22.

Would you please notify me of the decision of the Commission and the City Council.

Sincerely,

Jessica Harris Irwin County Building and Zoning Administrator Motion by Councilman Lemora Moses and 2nd by Councilwoman Claire Stone To accept and approve the recommendation of the Irwin County Building & Zoning Department.

All in favor – Voted 4 yes: Opposes none – Motion passed.

Eighth: Awarding LMIG Bid

Mayor Horace Hudgins stated that Statewide Engineer Mark Dill will present the bid information. Mr. Dill stated that East Coast Asphalt was the lowest bidder on the LMIG project and amount \$414,821.90

Mayor called for a motion.

Motion by Councilman Lemora Moses and 2nd by Councilwoman Patrice Y.W.

Manley

All in favor – Voted 4 yes; Opposes none – Motion passed.

Ninth: Executive Session if required

None required

Tenth: Reports from Council Districts

District 2

Councilwoman Patrice Y.W. Manley previous damage from previous project and is burn barrels in the burn ordinance.

District 3

Councilman Lemora Moses stated that he will inform his constituents about the CDBG grant.

District 4

Councilman Steven Hudson stated that the lights at South Apricot and West Park Streets are out. Also, the lights at Hwy 319/129 where you turn at the golf course, South Alder, and Five Bridge Road.

District 5

Councilwoman Claire Stone bragged on Public Works Director Corneilus Hall. The DDA committee is planning Community Day. DDA will not meet next Tuesday.

New Police Chief Ashley Jones stated that the Sheriff's department is changing out the radio and he gave the Mayor and Council a quote to review. Chief Jones introduced Officer Dewayne Williams.

Former Interim Chief John David Anderson in reference to the police radios the system's repeater is out dated.

Motion by Councilwoman Patrice Y.W. Manley and 2nd by Councilman Lemora Moses to approve the purchase and for the funds to come out of the Technology Fund.

All in favor Vote 4 yes: Opposes None: Meeting adjourned.

City Clerk Lucile Middlebrooks stated that the alleys and some streets need to be re-cut and cut back for the purposes of the garbage truck to travel to pick up resident's garbage.

Councilman Hudson asked the status of the utility bill system.

City Clerk Middlebrooks stated that the utility bills system in still a work in progress. Residents should be receiving a bill from AVR the new utility bill company in March.

Mayor Horace Hudgins recognized Irwin County Sheriff Cody Youghn, Irwin County Commission Chairman Scott Carver, Judge Heather Culpepper,

Eleventh:

Mayor called for a motion to adjourn.

Motion by Councilman and 2nd by Councilman Steven Hudson to adjourn the meeting.

All in favor Vote 4

yes; Opposes None; Meeting adjourned.

MEETING ADJOURNED:

MAYOR HORACE HUDGINS

CITY CLERK LUCILE MIDDLEBROOKS